Soul-suckety
2004-03-30 11:01 p.m.

My job is a soul-killing, dispiriting hole full of vile muck right now.

Why? you ask. Hmmm...dealing with a student committing a sexual assault in class (not my class, but one of the folks on my team, so my kids); jellyfish administration; kid dropping trou ON PURPOSE in my class; more dress code violations than I can count (aka "acres of chubby teenybopper flesh"); vituperative parental units; the latest Stoopid Requirement from da Skool Bored, and so on ad infinitum. Bah!

So what do I do when I'm unhappy? I go to the Book Fair in the school library and spend money, 'cause it's buy-two-get-one-free time! Okay, so I bought nine and got three free.

Here's what I got:

Joey Pigza Swallows the Key, Jack Gantos (my fifth copy!) and What Would Joey Do?, same author

The Thief Lord, Cornelia Funke

Green Angel, Alice Hoffman

Martyn Pig, Kevin Brooks

Flipped,Wendelin Van Draanen

The Great Good Thing, Roderick Townley

Meridian, Flying Solo (CrossGen TPB, pocket-sized and tres cool)

Mary Jane, Judith O'Brien

There are more, but this was just my first trip. I would've bought The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett, but an awesomely sweet buddy already sent it to me.

I'll read these, then take them to school. The kids recommended a few more; I love it when my kids read!

And now for something completely different:

I am the Master of the Universe!
Magister Mundi sum!

"I am the Master of the Universe!"

You are full of yourself, but you're so cool you
probably deserve to be. Rock on.



Which Weird Latin Phrase Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Go, me!

previous - next




Diaryland