kitties
2004-02-17 11:23 p.m.

The Samurai is still alive. He's doing dishes without prodding from me, so I guess he figured out that a snowball was forthcoming. He even rubbed my shoulders for me this evening! I do love that man.

I need to tell you about my neighbor's cats.

Our little landing is shared with the across-the-hall neighbors, Brian and Mrs. Brian, and their cats, Meeko and Little Cat. Brian and his Mrs. are very nice folks, especially when they've been drinking. The cats are odd.

Little Cat, AKA Friendly Cat, is a large, striped leg-rubbing kitty. Boy, is he sweeet. He wants in! He loves us! This is his mantra. Love meee, let me innnnnn. He also kills birds and plays in the snow, like a puppy. We often see his odd little face in the pine tree outside our living room window, peering at us. He's beaming: looove meeee, let me innnnn.

His cohort, Meeko, AKA Scaredy Cat, is a big black-and-white Persian. I met Meeko when I had to retrieve him for Brian. The movers scared him on their first day here, and he leapt from their balcony to ours. He trembled in my arms, poor baby. He used to scurry away whenever I saw him, but months of coaxing and soft talk have led to Meeko deciding I'm okay. He comes running when he sees me, wanting to be petted. He'll purr and roll over on his back, doing cute-kitty things. He also tries mightily to persuade me to use my opposable thumbs to let him into his apartment. I think he's decided I'm retarded. He's pretty condescending sometimes.

Both of these cats are in trouble, because Casey the Wonder Borkita is coming back to live with us.

Casey LOVEs cats. When he sees these two, he whines and wants to play. He is all about the nice kitties.

The kitties, however, are TERRIFIED of the big black and white doggie. They spend a lot of time up on the railing, hissing. Poor kitties.

Why am I telling you all of this? Because you needed to know. I'm not sure why, but you did.

Time to sleep now!

Reading: The DaVinci Code. Those short, short chapters are pissin' me off.

previous - next




Diaryland