Grrrrrr
2004-02-16 7:45 p.m.

I'm powerfully frustrated, and if I don't vent here, certain persons with whom I share my domicile will be feeling the brunt of my wrath. You've been warned. If you labor under the misconception that certain persons with whom I reside are saints, don't read any further. Those certain persons are mostly adorable, but right now they have me riled.

What have I spent my snowy Presidents' Day Holiday doing? Cuddling with my sweetie? Eating a leisurely breakfast? Working side by side with my mate to better our lovely home?

Gimme a break!

I got up at 10. I did dishes (someone else's job, but only I seem to notice full sinks of stinking dishes), folded laundry, started more laundry, cleared off the dining room table. Himself arose at 12:30. He watched TV in his undies while I balanced the checkbook and straightened out more mess. He watched me clean out the pantry and haul trash to the dumpster. He took a shower, got a nap during Dragon Ball Z, then got ready to go to the dojo.

By this time,having exhausted myself, I'd been snoozing on the sofa for about an hour. I was awakened by Himself because he needed to know where the plastic cups were.

Did he bother looking? Not really. They were in the newly organized pantry, instead of out on the counter, in the way, where he left them. Did he think to grab a nice, cold canned beverage from the fridge, instead of awakening his gently slumbering maid-of-all-work? Of course not! Why does she need rest? She's tough, dammit!

Does he bother to thank me when I tell him where to find the freakin' cups? Of course not. Can he manage to close the door quietly on his way out? 'Fraid not. When he arrives home, surly, tired, and laden with filthy dojo clothes for me to wash, he'll find nice, hot chicken soup, fresh apple pie, hot cornbread, and one pissed-off, evil-minded woman.

But the kitchen floor will be clean, and the bills will be paid. And maybe, just as he's drifting off to sleep in his nice, warm bed with the fresh, clean sheets, he'll find a snowball in his tighty whities.

previous - next




Diaryland