Joy's Yard
2004-02-11 10:35 p.m.

I drove past Joy's house today. It's on my way home from work, and entertains me every day.

Joy is the wife of a nice man my mom used to work with. She decorates her house for nearly every holiday. At Christmas, her home would be visible from space. There is no uncovered vegetation in her yard. She's infected her neighbors, too. The electric bill for her block in December would equal the GNP of Peru.

Last year, she added Valentine's Day to her must-decorate list. All this week, I've been watching her trundle around her yard, putting up her goodies. Pink, red, and white twinkly lights on ALL the shrubbery. Big red satin lips over the door. Light-up hearts dangling from trees. Big Valentine card standing in the yard. Cupids everywhere. Three of those scary blow-up figures: a dancing heart, a big-ass Cupid, and a rose with a face. I haven't seen it lit up yet, but I'll get to gawk at it on Friday if I agree to chaperone the dance at school.

Elsworthy really needs to come see this yard. It's astonishing, in the worst possible Trailer-American way.

I've already got something tres cool for the Minivan Samurai, and I think we're gonna go eat bait...errr, sushi, on Saturday. Me, I'll be happy with a card and some lovin'.

previous - next




Diaryland