Happy New Year!
2004-01-01 2:22 p.m.

Well, we're finally home from another Southern Gothic Christmas.

We first sped off to Florida, to the Pilot's house. Much merriment with niece and nephews ensued, including the unwrapping of three giant boxes of LoTR action figures for the kidlets. We managed to get ALL the girls for niece Elbone, so she was thrilled. (Galadriel was tough, but worth the look on Elbone's face!) We were spoiled rotten by everyone, and had fun despite hints of sibling tension between the Samurai and the Pilot. There's some stuff to be resolved there.

Then we were off to the Preacher's NEW abode, in Nashville. For those of you who remember last year's sojourn in Greenwood, Miss., AKA the Armpit of the Cesspool of the Universe, this was a HUGE relief. Dad's new place is on a hilltop, five acres with a cozy house, a gorgeous view, and a pool. He's starting a whole new phase of life, and I'm thrilled for him. His fiance is a sweet person, and we love her. I foresee happy times at their house.

We also paid a visit to the Samurai's favorite uncle and his family. Uncle is battling brain cancer, and it's tough to watch, but he was tickled to see us.

Anyway, we got home in time to go to a New Year's Eve party at the home of the Samurai's co-worker, Speed, and his wife, Sprite. Fun people, but I was once again the Oldest Person There. Bummer, until one of the thirty-something geek guys confessed that he'd been chagrined to hear I was married, because he thought I was cute! Balm for the middle-aged lady's soul, I tell you. I realized that, if the Samurai predeceases me, I may well be pursued by junior geek boys. Perhaps I shall be like Annie in Bull Durham--pick 'em up at the comics shop, make Geek Men out of 'em, then cut 'em loose. Guess I better find a house with a big bathtub, and buy a garter belt!

Last night also included watching the Samurai get the drunkest I've ever seen him get, in twenty years together. Y'know, you can get really, really wasted on girly champagne drinks? He's a genial, cuddly drunk, so I didn't mind. He even got up before dawn to go do katas at the oceanfront this morning. My man is SUCH a hardass!

Tonight, we are off to Blackbear's for more geeky fun. I love our friends!

Happy New Year to all! No resolutions for me--just a new heart, and lots of love to spread around.

On de Headbone: The Dubliners, superb party music for us Celts!

previous - next




Diaryland