Joy
2003-12-20 3:22 p.m.

Oh, what a happy week I've had!

I'm feeling progresively stronger and more "normal" every day. My students have been a joy all week. I got to go see Return of the King on Weds. with some of my favorite folks, and sat with Brigit whispering "Yummmm" in my ear every time Aragorn hit the screen. I got almost all of my shopping done, dyed my hair a lovely shade of chestnut (a bit reddish, very nice) and generally had fun.

The Big Black Cloud is gone, gone, gone from over my head. No more strokes! My heart beats steadily, and for the first time in my life, I'm not death's-head pale. There's actually color in my face. I look in the mirror and it startles me. I'm still me, but I'm more better. I giggle for no apparent reason, thinking of this.

Yesterday, my darling monkeys gave me presents: stinky candles, homemade cookies, ugly (and treasured) coffee mugs, sweet cards. We played my Holiday Trivia Game (incorporating EVERY notable event or weird custom associated with December and January that I could find) and watched the sky grow darker. After lunch, the flakes flew. We all crowded my two skinny windows and watched the Canada geese fly through the snow over our football field. A flock of starlings followed, swirling gracefully over the track. I halfway convinced the kids that the snow was actually a herd of Albino Brain Chiggers (stolen from Third Rock From the Sun) trying to infest us, and admonished them to wear hats outdoors. We all had fun.

After three years of wariness and suppressed fear, I am relaxing and finding joy again. I can't wait to see my niece and nephews in Florida, and Dad's new place in Nashville. I will go to church on Christmas Eve and sing my thanks joyfully to the Lord, who has been awfully good to me this year.

I sure hope my guardian angel gets some vacation time after this!

Happy Holidays, all!

On de Headbone: Dave Matthews, Some Devil. Lovely, lovely stuff.

Aside to my favorite Dame: I'm glad you enjoy my doggerel! I'm sorry there aren't more cards this year--I only had time for ten!

previous - next




Diaryland