History Alive!
2003-10-05 3:16 p.m.

Yesterday was spent at the History Alive demo, at our local botanical gardens. Boy, was that fun!

Among the highlights:

*perfect, glorious weather

*fantastic outdoor kitchen stuff organized by the amazing Dame Rosine

*full-on enthusiastic participation from most of our barony (a rare thing)

*sitting around with Margret, Antonella, Pwincess, Otto, Gwen, Vlad and Miriam, and all the other A&S types and being exhibits

*having my scribes' kit all decked out in period-ish containers for once, so I could paint pretty illuminated capitals without having to hide my modern junk under the table

*walking through the gardens in my new Blueduke-blue cote and flappity hood, heading for the flush potties in the visitors' hall, and greeting Confederate soldiers, Union drummers, Adrian Empire live-steel guys, flappers with cool cars, and...Nazis?

Weirdnesses:

*talking with an elderly lady who was just sure I was making pagan symbols to go in pagan manuscripts, because "all those medieval folk was pagan." (She clearly equated "pagan" with "bad.") She was disappointed when I told her that the lettters I was painting were taken from period manuscripts that contained Bible verses, and that the predominant religion of the Middle Ages was Christianity.

*having a rapt group of about fifteen spectators watching me mix up very modern gold powder in a scallop shell. I told them I wasn't about to try gold leafing on such a windy day, so I was using this "just-add-water" gold crap instead, and they were utterly fascinated.

*the definite puff-o-de-ganja smell wafting over from a nearby encampment, during demo hours! Someone wasn't being too bright.

*the extensive damage evident throughout the gardens from Hurricane Isabel, mostly older trees.

All in all, a fun day! Now I'm actually looking forward to Crown, and maybe making some more new stuff to wear. A friend of ours came to the demo yesterday, and wants to go to Crown, too, so I have motivation to stay active. Maybe some of you D-landers will actually get to see me!

previous - next




Diaryland