Random stuff
2003-09-29 8:57 p.m.

So, for days last week we got these calls.

"Is Cory there?"

"Nope, no Cory here."

Over and over and over. Finally, I snapped when one poor schmo called three times in a row.

"Where does Cory live?" I demanded.

"Um, Virginia Beach." the caller stammered.

Aha! Mystery solved; our exchange, with one number transposed, is a VB number. I suggested the alternative number to Caller Guy, who called me back later to tell me he'd reached Cory's answering machine at the number I suggested. Mystery solved.

Later the same evening, I got a call from a guy trying to call home.

"Wait!" I blurted. "Are you Cory?"

"Uh, yeah," Cory said. "How did you know?"

Turns out, Cory just moved, and still gets his phone number messed up. I suggested writing it on his hand with a Sharpie. Poor, dyslexic Cory.

*********

Yesterday, I had a day where everything I touched broke, fell, or was otherwise screwed up, except for food. The eats were good, strangely enough, although I became bruised, battered, and befouled during preparation.

*******

Still waiting to hear more from the heart doctor, who will fix my PFO with an Amplatzer septal occluder. This procedure will make me a tropical drink, as I will contain two little umbrellas.

*****

Anybody heard from Blackbear? He seems to have vanished....

previous - next




Diaryland