Baaad Casey!
2003-09-22 8:43 p.m.

Tonight, in an effort to be helpful to our friends without power, we had our godchildren and their parents over for dinner.

Now, dinner was great. I served "sketti," a favorite of goddaughter Mary Catherine, who is almost three. She strongly resembles Cindy Lou Who, and utterly charmed me by teaching me the Piggie Song. Mary Kate and I almost share a birthday, and I am mush in her tiny hands. Her sweet brother, Michael, told me all about sixth grade and regaled me with stories about his two dogs, both Boston Terriers. I'm not big on Boston Terriers, as I think they look like repulsive little piebald demons, but he loves them. Parents Richard and Christann were thrilled to be in air-conditioning, and enthralled by TV, so we were all happy...except Casey.

See, the Wonder Borkita doesn't much like little kids. He was fine until Mary toddled over to him, when he growled. Bad idea, Casey. I banished him to our room, not without trepidation.

The last time we shut him in our room, he had a big old time. He walked through the bathtub, leaving a pawprint in my soap, dragging washcloths and towels down. He ensconced himself in the center of our bed, woodging the comforter up with his soapy paws until he had a nice nest. He was a very Bad Doggie.

This time, the Samurai cleverly positioned our many baskets of dirty laundry on the bed so as to make ensconcement difficult. I shut the bathroom door, put Casey in exile, and relaxed when he curled up on the floor to nap.

After the guests departed, I opened the door. There, in the middle of overturned laundry baskets, on the bed, tail wagging, ears up, was Casey. The trashcan and laundry hamper were upended as well, as if for emphasis. Casey, unrepentent, made scolding wookiee noises at me as I tried to haul his 98 pound butt off the bed. Fussing at him just made him roll over on his back, acting puppyish and looking cute. How can I be mad at a face like that?

Ah, well. No school tomorrow, plenty of time to teach Casey how to do laundry.

On the Headbone: Lineman for the County, Glen Campbell...alternating with Galveston. Curse you, BdeB!

previous - next




Diaryland