Perils, dangers, and tribulations
2003-09-05 10:37 p.m.

Things I've survived this week:

*My mom and dad! They wore me out; left Thursday. Mom's new kidney has made her a new woman. FrankenMamma. Whew.

*First week of school, including the Incredible Escaping Necklace. It came undone on the first day of school, with me in my Power Dress, and slithered down my front, inside my dress, as I was jabbering away to my kids. It fell out the bottom of my dress a few minutes later with a soft *clink*, and I picked it up without halting my incessant teacher babble. At least I didn't have to go, erm, fishing for it.

*Real shoes. I forgot how much my feet hurt, even in "comfort" shoes, after a summer in sandals. Ouch.

*Thunderstorms galore, with Velcro Dog around. Poor ole Casey hates thunder, just trembles all over. He can, in fact, bulldoze the bedroom door with his head if he feels the need. He can also get up on the bed or sofa with me if he's sufficiently motivated. Problem is, he's stinkin' huge, and once he's determined to be somewhere, I can't shift him easily. At least he's not a termite, like sweet Maxi.

*Exhaustion. I am soooo tired.

*Anxiety. The Samurai called me tonight, during his weekly trek to the Dismal Farming Community due west where he teaches aikido each Friday. He'd been in an accident; my poor heart just triphammered, but he's fine. Some idiot tried to U-turn from the right lane, across the Samurai's path in the left lane. Idiot got off damage-free, but Frank was rear-ended. The van will need a new bumper, but he's okay.

Time to go eat ice cream, celebrate an excellent first week of school, and watch our new Neverwhere DVDs!

previous - next




Diaryland