Puppies
2003-09-03 5:41 p.m.

So far, my new 8th graders are good. I attributed this to their being Pups rather than Kittens (loyal and obedient, as opposed to independent and wilful) in nature, at first.

See, they WATCH me VERRRY closely, all the time. When I speak, they listen. It's freaky!

So, I asked them why they were so eerily attentive.

"Because," they said,"our friends all told us that you did really weird things in class, and we had to watch or we'd miss something funny."

I guess when you teach in the same school for 16 years, becoming increasingly eccentric, word spreads.

I just gave them my best Mona Lisa smile. I haven't talked to the imaginary alien surveillance teams yet, but I'll get there. For today, it was enough to discourage them from eating in class by telling them about the roaches. (Hey, you stick chewing gum all over YOUR house, you'll have critters, too.)

Heh heh heh!

previous - next




Diaryland