Leave my elevator alone!
2003-08-18 12:23 p.m.

Funny how annoyed I get when I read my friends' diaries, and they're busy beating themselves up.

Maybe I'm just really good at figuring out which criticisms leveled at me are valid. Maybe I've just spent my entire life being a disappointment to my dad. (Because I'm not a boy. I was supposed to be a boy, but nobody bothered to tell *me* until it was too late.) Maybe it's a product of working in a profession where everyone hates me and assumes I'm lazy. I dunno. But sometimes, you just have to look at the folks who are running you down and ask yourself, "Why do I care what this person thinks? I know I'm doing things the way they ought to be done."

Mind you, I'm not saying one should ignore constructive criticism, or the loving concerns of one's intimates. I'm just saying that, first and foremost, I stick to my own standards. I guarantee you that my expectations for myself are far higher than anyone else's. However, I also know how much I can realistically do, especially now that I'm dealing with diminished physical capability. If I tell someone I can't do something, there are good reasons. I might just need more time, or some help, but browbeating and harassing me will not accomplish anything. (Unless your goal is to be the victim of some spectacularly colorful verbal abuse.)

Sometimes, you just have to know how to tell the negative folks to back the hell off.

Hmph!

On the Headbone: some dumb Chopin piece that I never got right when I was fifteen...bah!

previous - next




Diaryland