Alone!
2003-08-03 12:35 a.m.

Yesterday, I had the WHOLE day to myself. Whee hee!

First, I watched lots of HGTV and Trading Spaces. The Samurai tolerates these obsessions with a mixture of snarky comments and ridicule (mostly of Hildy). If TS would add super heroes, he'd enjoy it more.

I then went shopping for the Perfect Small Bookcase. It had to fit in my micro dining room, hold my cookbooks, and look okay. Cherry finish preferred.

I tried Hell (WallyWorld) first. It was, truly, hellish, as a remodel is in progress. Kind of the whole Shopping in Beirut ambience. No bookcases, as their customers don't seem to read much.

Tried Value City furniture-nice, no bookcases. Office Max-okay bookcases, killer prices, no cherry.

Ended up at Tar-zhay. Found it! Nice 3-shelf cherry number. Lugged it home, up the steps. Uber-friendly neighbor kitties sneaked in while the door was open (they lounge on our landing) so I had to de-felinize the house first. Built my shelf, then reorganized, using all the cool cherry boxes I got at Tar-zhay. Now the Samurai's stuff has a home, the mail has a spot, I can get to all my cookbooks, the bills won't get buried, and the dining table is mostly clear. Organizational bliss.

Restrained myself from rearranging dining room at 3 AM. Even Mullet Man downstairs doesn't deserve that.

Stayed awake most of night with a budding migraine. Regretted eating Toxic Hell for dinner.

Blooming migraine today, so watched movies and cut out more garb that isn't for me. Rupert Everett is soooo luscious, though queer. And I think I love "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy." Those fellas are so sweet.

Enjoying my alone time, despite pain. Only rough spot was cleaning out the former dog-food bin to use for recyclables. The dog chow is long gone, but the pathetic little bag of Junior's stuff was still there. In the days after losing him, we obsessively gathered all his stuff and put it in there. We couldn't bear to look at it. I thought I could handle it now, but instead I dissolved into a weepy mess, there on the dining room floor, clutching his dish. I miss the old mop.

Tomorrow, barring continued head agony, I'll continue my home improvement spree. The Samurai will stagger home in late afternoon, hoarse from punishing his kiai, tired from staying up all night drinking beer and keeping track of younguns, and sore from Sensei's tender ministrations. He'll be loaded with wet laundry, too, and he'll want me to check him for ticks. *That* will be fun...heh heh!

On de Headbone: Amsterdam

Reading: Batgirl TPB. Yeah, the new Batgirl, Cassie. I really, really want a t-shirt with her logo on it. Guess I'll have to make one.

previous - next




Diaryland