Jerk Rant!
2003-08-01 1:33 a.m.

It's interesting to be staying home when all around me are preparing to Go Away. Most of my Barony does Pennsic, but I can't this year, so I've just been helping get them all ready and send them off. The Samurai is going to ninj...err, martial arts camp this weekend. I am going to be watching girl movies, eating chocolate, and making still more garb for other people for the war I'm not attending. (Yes, Plastic Baroness, you are loved.) I feel like the eye of the storm.

Last night one of my beefs with the SCA was dragged out into the full light of our Barony meeting, so we could all see it in its hideousness and be unhappy that it's again among us. Yes, I mean the Discourtesy Monster. You know, all the stuff BdeB said about drama, plus some. At the last few events I've been to, the Discourtesy Monster has bitten me more often than I'd like-as in, I do someting nice for someone, and then they stomp on my head in their mad rush to do as they will. I usually manage to stay polite, but I'm not sure that's the best response.

Maybe a little private outrage is called for. Pull folks aside, let 'em see how nasty they've been, but do it quietly. We have a few Bad Actors in our group who, as it turns out, have been pissing everyone off. Most of us just let it slide, especially when Bad Actor craves an audience and High Drama. However, I'm starting to think that if each annoyed person took Bad Actor aside and let it rip, there might be cause for change. As it is, we're not doing our Bad Actors any favors by letting things continue and causing resentment to build.

I'm going to try to take the same approach that I do with my students:if I don't like your behavior, it's my duty to let you know, politely and privately. I can't be the behavior police (like I HAVE to be at school) but I can curb my own frustration by giving you a chance to explain or make amends. I also sincerely hope that others will do these things for me. I'm tired of letting a few jerks ruin things for everyone else.

On de Headbone: Sabra Girl, Nickel Creek

previous - next




Diaryland