Things I'll Never Know
2003-05-24 12:44 p.m.

Everyone has gone to Sapphire Joust, and I'm stuck here at home on a great shopping weekend. Boo hoo! Poor lil ole me! Let's see, maybe I can find a trailer dress...um, tailored dress this weekend.

Only one small difficulty: the Truman battle group pulled in yesterday. Our area is currently overrun with little dudes sporting high-and-tight haircuts with a serious yen for shore life. The mall will be swarming with sailors. Fun, yes, but crowded. Also a bad weekend for seeing sci-fi or action flicks. My daddy, a retired Navy Master Chief, used to restrict me to home on weekends when a new battle group pulled in. Despite his best efforts, I did date a few sailors, but I met 'em in the SCA!

On a totally different note, I had a weird thought last night at 3 AM, when I interrupted my weird water-mobile dream (another entry in itself) to use the biffy. Half-awake, I began musing about the things about myself that I'll never know: what my mouth tasted like during my first kiss (a blue-eyed fireman knows that one), what my mom said the first time she saw me (she can't remember), what my face looked like when I recited my marriage vows (Frank knows), stuff like that. I guess we never really know ourselves, no matter how hard we try. Recently, I've forgotten what color my hair used to be...without dye, it's mostly gray, but right now it's a bit darker brown than I'd like (temporary dye, should wash out within a month, but showing no signs of budging yet and making me look a wee bit Gothic).

Yes, I'm rambling. Gonna go shopping, admire some sweet sailor boys, and enjoy my three-day weekend.

On the Headbone: Morning Has Broken, Cat Stevens (lyrics by the amazing Eleanor Farjeon)

Now reading: back issues of Ultimate Spider-man. Go get them! You'll like it! I promose!

previous - next




Diaryland