Visitors
2003-05-18 11:10 p.m.

I just spent a much-deserved lazy weekend with friends. Since I never get to see my friends, it was a lovely change of pace.

Corby and Thjora came to see us. They brought Maxi, too, so we got a healthy dose of tail-waggin', butt-wigglin' dog love. Corby got to raid the comic books, which pleased me. I've known Corby for a long time (since Byrum was 7) and one of my favorite things is Corby on a reading jag. He flops down, emits a loud "Ha!" whenever he's surprised or amused, and pauses for running commentary often. He also sort of glows with satisfaction, which I find very warm and comforting to be around.

Thjora helped me immensely with a major fashion problem. I told her about a hifalutin' wedding we're going to in June, down in Noo Awlins, and asked her what I should wear. I have a genuine phobia about being the worst-dressed woman at a southern wedding. I hate being discussed behind the canape table. Anyway, she percolated my problem in that classic blonde head of hers and dispensed just the right set of detailed shopping instructions. The word that sticks in my mind is "tailored." We'll see if I come home from the store with "tailored" or "trailer trash in a blender with Jimmy Buffet's grandma."

We had wonderful sushi last night with Evja, the World's Cutest Prosecutor. I'm dog-tired today, but I sure had fun! I miss my friends.

I must go and de-mystify Shakespeare for my leetle booger students. I have to make provisions for possible non-compliance tomorrow, as in alternative assignments for kids who refuse to be Bardified. The kids are convinced that school is over, even though we have 19 days and four SOL tests left. I anticipate spending lots of time on the phone this week. Grrrr.

On the Headbone: the soundtrack from Zeffirelli's Romeo and Juliet.

On my TV: Polanski's Macbeth, being watched by the Samurai. Yeah, he's doing Shakespeare, too.

Now reading: Girl With a Pearl Earring. Wow.

previous - next




Diaryland