7 songs
2003-05-13 11:39 p.m.

Thank you, blessed Angel of Death, for such a charming diversion. I needed something to focus on that wasn�t miserably depressing.

How can I limit myself to seven songs? If left unchecked, I could easily be a boxed set, because I simply can�t exist without music. If there isn�t any playing, my Headbone Radio kicks in.

I�m also afraid that my seven will change often, because I am definitely a work in progress.

1. Kate Bush: The Man With the Child in His Eyes.

This would be my Samurai, as well as many other men I love dearly.

2. Roxy Music: Avalon

Music from our courtship, my true love and I.

3. Mecano: Hijo de la Luna

I wish I could be the embodiment of this song. It�s fluid, graceful, serene, and passionate...and I�m not all of those things. Just some of them.

4. Toscanini and the NBC Orchestra: Dvorak�s New World Symphony

The soundtrack for my childhood, and something I share with my dad.

5. U2: Grace

Just listen to it.

6. They Might Be Giants: Dr. Worm

I don�t know why. It just suits me.

7. Coldplay: Clocks

New and popular, yes, but that gorgeous piano riff has seen me through some recent dark days. It tends to be on the Headbone whenever I�m being poked at or analyzed by another damn doctor, so I hear it a lot these days.

If I could choose more: Joe Jackson, the Clash, Foo Fighters, Loreena McKennitt, the Chieftains, Led Zep, and many others....

previous - next




Diaryland