O frabjous day!
2003-04-14 7:34 p.m.

Spring Break at last! Calloo, callay!

Along with our long-awaited vacation, we now have actual spring weather. No more rain. Pretty sunshine! Fresh breezes! Yellow cars, yellow trees, yellow AIR! (Ah-CHOO!)

So, I went shopping with Rosine and Margret on Saturday. Mind you, I am used to shopping with boys; my usual companions are Vlad, Blackbear, and the Samurai, so I'm accustomed to hearing remarks about passing girls, being used as a comparison-model when shopping for girlfriends ("Yeah, this will fit her...your boobs are bigger than hers."), and generally dealing with boy behavior (like spitting paper wads through straws at restaurants.) It was refreshing to shop with girls, but disorienting. At the dollar store, I spotted the pile of Hulk coloring books and the nekkid lady soap bars right away...and my two companions were cooing over fuzzy bunnies. I had to adjust a bit.

We went to the Craft Store Mother Ship and saw lots of nice beads...I guess I hafta make a viking dress now. Or at least, buy beads and keep them for ten years, then make a viking dress. Or just buy beads. Pretty! Shiny! Nice colors!

Saturday night, went out to dinner with my Samurai. We tried a new Italian place, which was formerly a nouveau-American place, and a Chinese buffet before that. Started off with a mostly-brown salad...bad...and then the lights went out. The whole block went out, actually. Very weird. Many fire trucks rushed past...never did find out where they were going, or why the lights went out. I don't think we were meant to enjoy that dinner.

Yesterday, we were spuds, and did a lot of nothing. Felt good.

Today, I am one unhappy lady. I spent ALL DAY looking for my damn W2 from school. Never did find it; had to drive out to Admin and get a copy from payroll. Grrr. Had to call the hospital to schedule my echocardiogram; got kept on hold forever, hung up on FIVE times, and finally called hospital admin to bitch. They had scheduling call me back. I am now spending most of my spring break in doctors' offices. Yecch.

Went to Tar-zhay, and scored a cute rayon dress for $13, and two Batman pictures for the Samurai. Bought Easter chocolate, too. Hey, I was depressed!

Talked to Blackbear on the phone when I got home. I miss him. He has a very grounded way of seeing things that I, flighty sillypuss that I am, find invaluable.

Tomorrow, must get one of our two minivans fixed, and get a copy of The Transporter...a fine cinematic feast for the adrenaline junkie and the estrogen brigade, alike.

On de Headbone: the Flaming Lips, unfortunately.

previous - next




Diaryland