Micro Men!
2003-02-16 7:04 p.m.

Well, now I know why I've been so tired and cantankerous lately. I have a nasty sinus infection; my doctor referred to my malady as a "real mean mutant brain booger." Yes, my doctor is a silly lady. I'm now on antibiotics, which are, as usual, messing up my innards. Gack.

Had an interesting end-of-week. Thursday, we dragged Blackbear to a choral concert, presented by choirs from Va. Beach's three sister cities, Moss, Norway, Miyazaki, Japan, and Bangor, Northdown, Ireland. The first choir, the Moss Chamber Singers, featured a bunch of tall, robust Norwegians in folk costume. They were splendid, and B'bear fell in love with the gorgeous brunette soprano soloist. Next, the Furuton (i.e. Fulton) Men's Choir from Miyazaki bounded out on stage. These guys were wee bitty compared to the Norwegians; it was like the Invasion of the Micro Men! They were cute; our favorite was their rendition of "Space Battleship Yamato," better known to you geeks as "Star Blazers," complete with silly dance routine. Finally, the Bangor Ladies' Choir came out and made us all weep, singing a very bosomy "Amazing Grace." After intermission, the real highlight was The Westers, six high school students from Japan singing doo-wop harmony. I still don't know how that teeny bass makes those noises! After some chamber music stuff, my hubby deserted me to go help his sensei with the Japanese delegation, but Blackbear gallantly accompanied me to dinner and saw me home. What a treasure he is!

Friday, after playing hooky for doctor stuff, the Lost Boys persuaded me to go see Daredevil. It ain't Spider-Man, but it's okay. I'll have to go again with the Samurai. Friday night, we were back in concert-land, seeing the VB Symphony, Miyazaki Symphony, and all of Thursday's choirs joined by the VB Symphony Festival Singers, doing Beethoven's Ninth. Very impressive, especially with a 250 person chorus doing the "Ode to Joy." Shivers!

Yesterday and today have been spent being sick from the antibiotics, but I'm getting better. Yogurt is my friend! No snow here, just icy rain. Bleah.

Gotta go cook up lesson plans for my gooberitos. You snow bunnies take care, and stay warm!

Today's geek movie: Buckaroo Banzai! You DO have this one memorized, don'tcha? It's John Lithgow's greatest role!

Remember:

"History is made in the dark!"

and

"No matter where you go...there you are."

previous - next




Diaryland