Wishful and wistful
2003-02-12 11:14 p.m.

Today a very young male colleague asked me what he should get his girlfriend for Valentine's Day.

He was surrounded by a herd of women old enough to be his mom (teacher workroom, go figure), and they all said,"Money!"

He was shocked. Didn't we want silk lingerie? Godiva? Jewelry?

He missed the point. It's not about the presents; it's about feeling loved and appreciated, and for teachers, appreciation in its purest form is cold, hard cash.

What do I want for Valentine's Day?

Well, here's what I usually hear:

Could you (insert task here) ASAP?

We're out of (whatever).

I need (whatever.)

Don't we have any (thing used only by husband)?

Did you pay the bill?

Where's the (random object to be found using Uterine-Ovarian Triangulation)?

What I want to hear:

I got some more of those today, because I noticed we were almost out.

I already took care of that, so you wouldn't have to do it.

Is there anything I can pick up while I'm at the store?

Sit down and rest;I'll do that.

Sigh. I can dream, can't I?

previous - next




Diaryland