Ice Castle
2003-01-27 7:54 p.m.

Well, after my utterly curmudgeonly last entry, I have to say that Ice Castle was massive fun!

Best stuff:

*Judging A&S with Gen and Isobel. Every moment spent with these two is both entertaining and educational.

*Watching my Samurai and the Lost Boys try to spank those monkeys!

*Hanging out with my PelLaurel and the Spare Pel, and schmoozing with old Black Diamonders

*Getting to know Ann, and trying hard not to overuse the Forbidden Word

*Vlad, Edwin, and Giovanna (Liam's a Grandbearon now!)

*Isobel's Pelican (yes, I wept; it was a very bright and shiny Pelican)

*Watching Andrew be Bouncy Daddy for Regan in his pointy shoes

*Knight impersonations:nearly wet myself laughing. Andrew is evil!

Weird moments:

*Sweet little BD girlie asks me, "Is this your first Ice Castle?"(more like 20th)

*"Look! It's Grandma!"

*People I know not recognizing me in my dumb hat.(It is a truly flappy hoodie.)

*Seeing one of my former 8th graders among the young Black Diamonders

*Freezing. Now I remember why we left! Damn, it's cold up there in them mountains!

If I could go to events like this one every weekend, I'd be much less cynical about the SCA. I think I'll make more new stuff ('cause it's FUN) and teach Ann anything she wants to know ("cause she's FUN). I might make one event a month, if I try...and I'm starting to believe it would be worth the work involved.

Must go calculate grades. Urgh.

previous - next




Diaryland