Bah!
2003-01-28 9:59 p.m.

Well, I should have known I couldn't take a weekend off from school crap without repercussions.

Got my grades done, both 2nd nine weeks and semester, and turned in. Printed out progress reports for the kids, got lesson plans done, gradebook straight...and immediately got notices for FOUR meetings to be held this week, a request that my planbook be turned in early to my AP (who will be out of the building until next Tuesday),gradebook review notice, two conferences (long overdue), and stuff to do for forensics. aaack! Can't I have a life?

My latest tooth-grinder is a boy I'll call Bill.This particular kid is a strapping, bright fellow: perky chap with a gleam in his eye. Takes standardized tests every year, aces a different one each time, and fails all the others-for example, 4th grade English is 99th percentile, all other subjects are 3rd percentile, but in 5th grade Math is a 99, all others 10s or 20s.This kid loves anime, comics, and punk bands.(At least he and I have something in common!) I first met him when he was a goofy 6th grader, and I find him mostly delightful.

Problem is, his mom thinks he's "bad." She's told me this, in front of poor Bill.He's decided to make the grades she expects (failing ones), for the semester, instead of the A's and B's he got for the first nine weeks. She thought we were being too easy on him, "giving" him good grades.

Maybe Bill isn't the reason I'm grinding my teeth; it's his momma. She's bad.

So, what should my next SCA event be? We can't do University, but we're open to suggestions. Maybe if I go to another event, I'll find that I have to write my lesson plans in Urdu when I return.

On de Headbone: Loreena McKennitt smishsmosh, from listening to three CDs last night while grading stories...all the songs are just running together.Kind of like any given Metallica CD.

Still reading: Winter's Tale, Mark Helprin

previous - next




Diaryland