SCA queries
2003-01-23 8:14 p.m.

I'll take a swat at our dear Senex's SCA questions. Bear in mind that I've been dealing with a migraine for two days, so I'm cranky.

What reasons caused you to go to the last few events?

My last event was in June 2002, and I went because two of my eighth graders wanted to go. I also wanted to hang out with my friends, and they were mostly there.

Before that, I had been to several events that my Pelican was attending, at her suggestion.

For how many of those was medieval fun the overriding reason?

I don't have "medieval fun" at events, because most events aren't terribly medieval. I have medieval fun in my sewing room, or at Scriptorium, because those are places where I get to learn and do really medieval stuff. I come to events because the people I love are there, and because I usually like the food.

How many events would you go to if you didn't know anybody there (like probably your first event)?

Much as I love my barony, I might only last for one or two; it would depend on who I talked to. If it were, say, Rosine, I'd be back! I'm not sure what would happen if I were attending events in another kingdom.I know enough, after twenty years in the SCA, to be a bit more critical than I was at my real first event. My VERY first event was Ice Castle I, and there I met Blueduke, Hun-e-b, Dickon, and Tsuneo. I kept going to events because A) these people did stuff I already liked, like dancing, madrigal singing, costuming, and illumination B) it gave me something fun to do (at Tech) that didn't involve the Greek system or drinking and C) there were cute guys everywhere. Polite cute guys. Smart, polite cute guys. (Okay, so I was young!)

My discontent with the SCA stems largely from a couple of surreal situations I've had to get through, including the suicide of a dear SCA friend. I don't blame the SCA for the odd things its members sometimes do, but I do find it strange that many of us pay lip service to ideals of chivalry and nobility that have nothing to do with the way we actually conduct ourselves. For me, the "dream" is hollow.

Told you I was cranky. Sigh.

previous - next




Diaryland