Men, Boys, Hairdressers
2003-01-20 9:37 p.m.

Well, Blackbear solved the problem of too much marital togetherness: he got us outta the house.

We were originally supposed to dine at Casa de Bear with Vlad, Blooeye, and Evja. B'bear likes to stack the odds with as many women as possible. Blooeye and Evja canceled, leaving me as the sole female attending. Not to be deterred, our B'bear cleverly entangled Vlad and the Samurai in a computer game, and enlisted my help in the kitchen. (Not that he needed any.)

In short order, we were fed delicious salmon ("BAM! Bam? Sprinkle!"), garlic taters, acorn squash ("slurry"), salad, rolls, and (eventually) apple pie a la mode.I also learned the following things:

A) There are three kinds of men: Men, Boys, and Hairdressers. I tend to like Boys, but Hairdressers have the coolest theme music.

B) Women don't have theme music, we have auras. Mine is an aura of Authority, according to Vlad. I'm still not sure if that's a good thing.

C) Kevin Smith has issues, but he's a genius. (They made me watch "Clerks," and, NO, I'm not going to tell you how many guys I've...oh, nevermind!)

Big fun. Too much testosterone for one day.

Went to see baby Alex yesterday; he is Mr. Personality. He giggles now. He's incredibly cuddly. I melt around the baby nephew.

Today, got new hood done,and cotehardie cut out, after much wrangling with the pattern and finagling with my underdress. It would be soooo convenient not to have boobs. Still have papers to grade. Mr. Weather Dude on teevee is calling for more snow, tomorrow and Thursday. Promises, promises!

On de Headbone: Devil's Haircut, Beck

Now reading: Winter's Tale, Mark Helprin

previous - next




Diaryland