Survivors
2003-01-14 9:42 p.m.

I did a really good thing today, and I'm exhausted.

Back in November,at the urging of my 8th grade teammates, I contacted our local United Jewish Federation about getting someone to come talk to our kids about the Holocaust. We're fortunate to have a number of survivors in our area, and it's been a while since we last hosted a speaker at our school.

The UJF graciously found us two speakers, so we were able to accommodate all 400 eighth graders. My principal and the other 8th grade teachers were enthusiastic, so I planned two assemblies, to be held simultaneously. One speaker would talk in the library, and the other would be in the auditorium.

Silly me. I thought this would be easy.

Suffice to say that many little obstructions have tried to present themselves, including some unlovely displays of temper and foul attitude on the part of a few of my colleagues.The silliest was the lady who ERASED my name and the notation "Holocaust speaker" from the library schedule so she could bring her kids in! Fortunately, the librarian was with me when we set up the date, and had it on her own calendar, but it still took both of us to convince the dingaling that she really couldn't use the library today.

My kids helped reset the library with extra chairs, and had the whole thing back to normal today fifteen minutes after the assembly. My kids rock.

The very best part was seeing the students connect with the two wonderful treasures who came to share with us. We had prepared the kids carefully, so they had some background knowledge about the Holocaust and knew what kinds of questions to ask. Our survivors were Hanns, a tough-as-nails 87 year old German-American grandpa, and Anne, a Belgian-American lady whose parents successfully hid her and her sister, but perished in Auschwitz.Many of us, kids and grownups alike, wept as they told their stories. The kids reverently shook Hanns' hand as they exited, and Anne must have been hugged a million times. They both told me how touched they were by their reception, and said they'd never seen such terrific eighth graders.

My kids spent the rest of the day writing thank-you letters, and talking about what they themselves are going to try do to end prejudice. They were sweet and earnest, and utterly sincere.

I am drained, and trying to fight a cold, but I'm very, very glad I did this. These folks are such a precious resource, and will be gone all too soon. I am humbled by their courage, and uplifted by their love. I'm also truly blessed to be teaching with such wonderful colleagues and kids. I will try to remember this tomorrow when they are all making me crazy.

previous - next




Diaryland