skool am kool
2003-01-09 9:56 p.m.

Yes, I'm actually doing daily updates this week. I have a sort of logjam of stuff in my head that I'm gradually feeding to you guys, and I'm trying to keep the Bloo Eyed Devil happy.If she really wanted to reciprocate, she'd get a diary of her own going...as would my Samurai and Vlad, too. C'mon, lurkers! Post something!

I am currently doing some school things that I'm very proud of. My darlings are about to read "The Diary of Anne Frank," so we're doing Cool Thing #1: an I-Search. Unlike the traditional research paper (teacher gives you a topic, you take notes on just enough info to satisfy her, write a very dull report, and turn it in) an I-Search isn't about the product, it's about the process. I've modified the original idea (in Ken MacRorie's very cool book) so that what my kids are doing resembles a journal. They investigate the Holocaust and WW II in a very general sense first, then decide which topic they want to pursue. They record what souces they use, take bulleted notes, and eventually decide on four basic questions to guide their research. Finally, they spend time tracking down facts to answer the questions, as they keep a running log of their reactions and ideas.

At first, they were puzzled, but now they're going at it like they're starving for information. I've been reading each day's stuff (notes and journal) from each kid, and adding suggestions. Their work is great! They're actually reading the books, not just skimming, and thinking about what they want to know and why. They are also begging to be allowed to do it again! Amazing! Best if all, I get 100 very interesting papers to read.

Cool Thing #2 is a visit, next Tuesday, from two Holocaust survivors. I'll give y'all the full report after the big event.Since it was my idea, I'm up to my neck in planning details, and I'm stoked. The kids are excited, too.

Sometimes I really, really love my job!

previous - next




Diaryland