Gangs!
2003-01-06 7:30 p.m.

Goodness. I'm not scary, really I'm not. THEO is scary! I want HER to come talk to my stupid neighbors. With her drill.

I have to answer Kevin's "What would you do with five bucks?" question honestly: I'd save it for a house, on a big, big lot, far away from any possible neighbors. I really, really want to buy a house. (This will make my sister happy, as she will no longer serve as the family hotel.)

So, I promised you guys a review of "Gangs of New York." The Samurai and I went to see it on Saturday, in all its three-hour goriness.

Now, I must tell you, it is very important, when seeing a three hour film, to choose a theater with exits in back on BOTH sides. If you don't, you will spend three hours watching people with tiny bladders trot to and fro, as did I.

Next, when choosing a film by the remarkably ferret-like Mr. DiCaprio, it helps immensely to choose one that features his character's demise. My favorite scene in "Titanic" features the Amazing Sinking Jacksicle. I won't tell you if he dies in GoNY, but I will say I was disappointed, especially by the supposed "mutilation." I counted all the little bits: ears, nose, fingers, hands, feet...all there. Perhaps something not currently on display was removed? No; no parts left Leo, just his pride. (This in a film where "Ears and noses are the trophies of the day!" was sincerely uttered by a character called Bill the Butcher.)

Short take: extremely, gruesomely gory, but oddly watchable and compelling, especialy Daniel Day-Lewis.I can't really say I enjoyed it, but I'm glad I saw it.At the very least, I can say I contributed to Mr. Scorcese's therapy fund; after this film, I'm sure he needs it!

Recommended reading: Winter's Tale by Mark Helprin. Wonderful story about a man, a woman, and a magic horse, set partly in the Five Points at the turn of the century.

On the Headbone: Sugar Hiccup, the Cocteau Twins...my favorite unintelligible band.

previous - next




Diaryland