Bus Duty Blues
2002-12-04 9:26 p.m.

Brrr. I h-h-hate b-b-bus d-d-d-duty! It's c-c-c-c-cold. Today, I wore enough wool to set every collie in town to herding me, and I still froze. My function is to keep the little monsters from running AND to urge them to hasten (carefully) to the buses. Many of our sweeties are the offspring of overly accommodating parents, and don't understand why the bus can't wait while they clean out their lockers, chat with friends, and get sodas. Some of the little blighters will even chase moving buses! I had to write a kid up for bus-chasing today, which means he'll lose bus privileges for a week. His poor mama will be driving him, waiting for him to get ready, waiting for him to finally emerge from school. At least he's not a big squishy pancake.

We're going to do the snow dance ( a variation of the pee-pee dance) before bed tonight, but I'm pretty sure all we'll get here is crunchy rain. Bus duty will surely suck tomorrow.

Gotta go watch the "Two Towers" special I taped tonight. I am such an incredible geek, but I *still* want to be Eowyn when I grow up.

Eleven days til I'm forty. Time hastens apace. Any recommendations for a good under-eye cream, ladies?

On the Headbone:Sunday, Bloody Sunday, U2

Re-reading:Fellowship of the Ring. A semi-annual tradition, only now Tom Bombadil looks, in my mind's eye, just like Peter Jackson.

previous - next




Diaryland