We gather together!
2002-11-30 9:29 p.m.

I ate Thanksgiving dinner with Perry Ellis's mom this year.

On Thursday, the Samurai and I, armed with green bean casserole and *real* homemade cranberry sauce (NOT can-shaped!) went to my brother's for Thanksgiving. Mom and Dad are here from Oregon, baby Alex was there, itchin' to recline on Unca Samurai, and my mom's pals June and DJ were joining us.

Kim, my thoughtful sis-in-law, had gone and picked up her pal Winnie. Winnie and her hubby Irving are in their late 80s, and Irving really wasn't up to coming, but his sweet wife enjoyed an afternoon with younger folk. She's spry for 88, fashionably dressed and coiffed, with a wry sense of humor. When Kim had to take her home, loaded with leftovers for Irving, she cried.She misses her son, she says. Yes, her son was Perry Ellis, the designer. He died in 1986.

I am incredibly thankful for my family!

Yesterday, the Samurai and I beached ourselves and watched ALL 4 discs of the Fellowship of the Ring, extended crackhead version. Wow. Learned all about digital grading. Extremely cool stuff.

I fulfilled my promise to the Samurai, and did NOTHING all day. Ordinarily, I've done a load of laundry, washed dishes, and straightened the house before I've even finished brewing my coffee. Even when I'm sick, I do little tasks around the house. Not yesterday! Lemme tellya, it took every bit of self-control I had not to do stuff. It's actually easier to go ahead and do stuff all the time.(Habit, I guess.)

Gotta go grade some papers. Ugh.

18 days left until The Two Towers opens!

15 days left of my thirties!

Gack!

previous - next




Diaryland