Halloween
2002-10-31 6:16 p.m.

Unlike my grumpy grandBear, I love Halloween!

I love driving past Sgt. Markle's house every day. His wife, Joy, decorates for every holiday. Every. Last. Holiday. Christmas, you need sunglasses to drive by their house at night. Halloween, though, is truly, wondrously tacky. Joy's even got the across-the-street neighbors competing with her! What fun.

I love hearing my too-big-to-trickortreat students plan their first non-begging Halloween. Parties? Take little sibs to the mall? Dress up and do a haunted house? Aggravate your teachers?

I love doing my annual schtick with "The Tell-Tale Heart." I've got a truly creepy recording of it, and I wear my hologram-eyeball glasses while we read it. I also teach 'em the difference between "corpse" and "corps." Heh heh heh.

I love little folks in costumes who bounce for joy when I give them Powerpuff stickers with their candy! (Yes, Gen, I have PPG stickers!) We don't get many Halloweenies, but the ones we do have are sweet. Not like Blackbear's punk kids.

On de Headbone: Dead Man's Party, Oingo Boingo. Danny Elfman is amazing!

previous - next




Diaryland