censorship
2002-11-06 11:16 p.m.

Well, my brother and family are here from Oregon, so I'm a little busy. Sorry about the lack of thrilling updates lately.

While I'm finding the quality family time this week to be a real joy, I am massively depressed today. I spent two hours making copies of lesson plans and referencing my curriculum, all so I can go to bat for "The Tell-Tale Heart." Seems that one of my children was traumatized by the "violence" in the story and is now having nightmares. Her papa wants poor Poe eradicated from the curriculum, and the first step he has to take is to come chew on me about my choice of literature. What really gripes my grits is the fact that this parent had TWO e-mail addresses for me, and TWO phone numbers, yet he chose not to contact me at all over the course of the four days it took us to work that story. Had he called me, I could have given his daughter a different assignment-would cheerfully have done so, actually. Instead, he went directly to the school board, trying to keep anyone from reading TTH at all. The SB sent him right back to us. I am incensed. While he has the right-or responsibility, even-to safeguard his daughter, he's ignored the options open to him in favor of advocating censorship. I'm not likely to be especially nice to him at 8:30 tomorrow morning.

Off to bed; Thursday in EduCait Land won't be pretty.

previous - next




Diaryland