Original Recipe Cait
2002-10-23 4:56 p.m.

Oh, boy. I'm fried today.

Yesterday was Parents' Day at school. The mommas and poppas come and go to all their kids' classes, and we make 'em feel like they're back in school. Fun, but stressful. (Any disruption of routine causes middle school histrionics to escalate.)

Today, I gave a test. Yesterday, the little goobers could rattle these answers off; today, they know nothing.It was an open-notes test, too. I despair of getting them to learn anything this year. I wonder if I'm too old for truck driving school.

My students are also worried that Mr. Sniper might get a yen for some beach time. I assured them that he seems to prefer I-95 to I-64, and they seem satisfied.Still, we are all nervous. I hate the fact that so many of my dearest SCA friends live right in Sniper Central.

So, what does depressed, worried Educait do? She overdoses on movies, TV, and comix! Woo hoo!

First, I have to agree with Blackbear's take on The Transporter, and add that it's got some very slick, witty martial arts scenes in it. (It was written by Luc Besson, who did La Femme Nikita and The Professional.He's a funny dude.) An added attraction is Jason Statham's weird, gravelly voice and lovely, chiseled torso. Um, yeah, Jase, I think you need to take the shirt off for this fight. Ummm-hmm.

Second, Buffy last night was a real brain-twister. I love unpredictable plots! The Samurai dug the spider, too.

I'm going to try to sit still for Birds of Prey tonight. We'll see if Tweety, Cricket, and Wheels get better with age. I hate shows where one of the characters is a teacher, and none of the writers have a clue what teachers ACTUALLY do.Snarl.

Lastly, I know I keep recommending it, but I do love Powers. Brian Michael Bendis is a genius.

On the Headbone today:Meet Me On the Other Side; I think it's Train, but I'm not sure. It's haunting, whoever it is.

previous - next




Diaryland