mindfulness
2002-10-07 9:27 p.m.

I'm trying to be mindful. You know, live "in the moment," instead of "by the deadline." Hard to do when you're an edumacator.

I've been rolling down my window on my way to work and gazing at a field overrun with morning glories of every hue...instead of being pissed that the light turned red just before I got there.

I take the two-lane road to work so I can see the egrets' fall gathering near Stumpy Lake...and try not to curse when I'm stuck behind a minivan doing 20 mph.

I try to hear the glee in my eighth graders' voices...and ignore the blue chewing gum in their mouths. (Okay, I CAN't ignore that...spit it out! Yes, you! Now!)

I am delighted by my goddaughter's imperious grip on my finger, and her glorious blue-green eyes...even though we're in a bowling alley next to a go-go bar, celebrating her brother's birthday with duckpins.

Will I ever achieve enlightenment?

On the headbone:lovely Mali guitar blues, heard on my way home today.

Now reading: many back issues of Powers, acquired at Trilogy yesterday. Gosh, I'm such a geeeeeeeeeeek!

previous - next




Diaryland