Jill
2002-08-04 10:51 p.m.

I'm so confused.

We ordered pizza tonight. We always order from the same place, and they have an especially fast and reliable delivery person.

This person, who I'll call Jill, appears to be a petite, nice-looking, rather athletically built twenty-something woman. However, when Jill speaks, it's apparent that Jill's crotch still harbors a one-eyed trouser serpent. Or something. Jill's voice is a nice baritone.

We've had some conversations with Jill about martial arts stuff-Jill noticed the Samurai's weapons and trophies, and asked about them. Jill's interested in getting back into martial arts after a bit of a break, and the Samurai had some good advice for him. Her. Whatever.

Tonight, we found out that Jill is quitting to become a bouncer at a bar called (I kid you not) the Rainbow Cactus. We are going to miss Jill.

Knowing Jill has forced me to practice compassion, despite my discomfort. I'm not accustomed to dealing with issues related to gender confusion, but I can certainly feel for someone who's dealing with such a difficult situation.While Jill was, at first, startling to me, I grew accustomed to him. I don't necessarily condone his lifestyle,which can be pretty dangerous in a Navy town, but I like Jill. I hope he can find a happy place for himself.

Sometimes I'm pretty confused and unhappy, too.

Now reading: The Salmon of Doubt, Douglas Adams. I'm feeling Mr. Adams' death very keenly; he was a wonderful man.

(Everyone should read Last Chance to See,too.)

On De Headbone: Dirty Work, Steely Dan (Did you know this band was named after a dildo? No foolin'.)

previous - next




Diaryland