Conscience
2002-08-03 10:06 p.m.

Foxphotog mentioned the idea of one's conscience being a barometer for right and wrong.

I'm not sure my conscience is making my choices. I'm generally ruled by a combination of empathy and concern. I tend to identify with other people, even if they're pretty unpleasant people, and put myself in their shoes before I start making judgements.(Ever read "To Kill a Mockingbird"?) I also tend to be concerned about the well-being of other people. I'm not sure that these tendencies of mine are good things.

Sometimes, I'm too easy on someone who really doesn't deserve (or want) my concern. Other times, I misread people and discover later that I could have been kinder to them. I guess it all boils down to the good old Golden Rule, but I don't always adhere to it the way I should.

I try the "turn the other cheek" approach when I'm dealing with someone unpleasant, but I have a pretty mean temper sometimes. That's something I'm working on.

I've also realized that sometimes it's more beneficial for the person I'm dealing with if I don't let them get away with whatever it is they're trying to pull. For example, one day, as I was shopping at my local Grocery Box, a nice-looking middle-aged man tried to abduct me. He approached me and tried to grab me and lead me out of the store, saying "Honey, you need your medication." I'm afraid I wasn't very nice to him. My instincts told me I was in danger, and I didn't really think it would be good for this guy's moral development if I let him abduct me, rape me, and kill me.

I went from sweet lady to flaming volcanic bitch in a heartbeat. I hollered at the top of my lungs, telling him to get away from me, cursing like a sailor, and letting everyone who could hear me (a LOT of people-I gathered a crowd) that this guy was trying to abduct me. (Ladies, if you yell at an attacker, be informative-don't just make noise.) This asshole just smiled at me and left the store; the manager tried to get his plate #, but he'd covered it. The creep was slick.

Was I rude to this guy? You betcha! I was trying to protect myself. Did I also prevent him from harming himself? Possibly. I don't know what happened next; I like to think he's leaving brown-haired ladies alone now.

My conscience didn't bother me after this happened, either.

When I run into problems is in my classroom. Sometimes, I have to do things I don't like, but that are in the best interest of a child. I might have to violate a confidence, if a kid tells me he's being abused, or doing something illegal. I don't feel good about it, but I try to be honest with the kids, and let them know that there are some things I can't keep in confidence. Even so, it bugs me to betray a child's trust.

Today's light summer reading: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, a new Alan Moore comic. Looks very intriguing!

On the headbone: Where Are You Going? Dave Matthews

previous - next




Diaryland