Galadriel's Awl
2002-07-31 11:22 p.m.

I am so fortunate to have Liam for a friend!

Thanks to his artistry, I have the sewing tool of my dreams. See, I love cotehardies. I like the way they fit, and they are comfortable. They work much better for me if I take the time to do all the little eyelets by hand.Liam happened to see me demonstrating how I make eyelets at a convivium at Rosine's. At the time, I started the hole by separating the linen threads with a sewing awl, then widening the hole with a knitting needle.

"I can make you something better than that." says he.

What he made was a bronze eyelet awl, about seven inches long, with a lovely twisted handle finished with an elegant leaf. It's truly gorgeous, fit for an elf princess, and will be incredibly useful.(Want one? Talk to Liam!)

Now to build Liam some princely blacksmithing garb....

Thing to ponder: saw a magazine in the grocery store titled "Affluent Golfer." I might buy a copy, go sit in the local unemployment office, and read it, just for grins.

On the headbone: "Gilligan's Island" theme, sung to the tune of "Greensleeves." Also works using the lyrics from "The Mickey Mouse Club" song. Very disturbing.

previous - next




Diaryland