WalMart Beautification Project
2002-05-10 7:56 p.m.

Okay, I have issues with my looks.

I'm never really satisfied with my appearance, and sometimes I manage to magnify my faults in my own mind until I'm convinced that I'm an absolute hideon. Mrs. Medusahead. A certified Department of Uglification Project.

I'm not hideous, really, just sort of average. I'm usually clean and fairly okay-smelling, I wear enough makeup to keep from looking corpselike, and I'm usually clad in clean, decent-looking clothing. I'm not Agent G63, but I'm okay.

If I want to feel gorgeous and stunning, I go to my local WalMart. Remember, I live in Chesapeake, a fairly redneck sort of place.WalMart is filled with skinny guys with no teeth and mullets, wearing Nascar hats and John Deere belt buckles, and their long-term common-law live-ins. Many of the womenfolks at WalMart are well past the 200 lb. mark and fond of tight stretch pants. Some have ventured into bellbottom-and-midriff territory normally inhabited by sweet young thangs who weigh six ounces. A lot of them are stranded in 1987.

After a trip to WalMart, I feel like a goddess. Of course, the effect is dampened if a mullet boy actually ogles me-like, ew!

Book of the Day: No More Dead Dogs by by Gordon Korman. About Wallace Wallace, a kid who never lies, and his English teacher, who is fond of those dead-canine novels, like Old Yeller and Sounder.

Song on De Headbone: Quiche Lorraine by the B-52s

previous - next




Diaryland