Kids
2002-05-14 12:20 a.m.

Children are terrifying.

Not the kids themselves-they're great! I looove kids! They're smart, and funny, and honest (usually), and they keep me busy.

What terrifies me is how much they need us, the adults in their lives. My eighth graders need far more attention than most of their grown-ups realize.The younger the kids, the more dependent they are.

I can handle this. I like taking care of other people, especially kids. What terrifies me is that so many kids are like little Rilya Wilson. They depend on their grown-ups, and the adults drop the ball. I pray fervently, every night, that she'll be found, and she'll be okay.

I also pray that I'll be the best aunt in the world to my niece and nephews. I'm very close to Frank's brother's kids. I've changed their nappies, rocked them to sleep, played with them on the floor, tied their shoes, hunted for worms, let them "style" my hair...you name it. They are infinitely precious to me, and I'm honored to be part of their lives. I'm hoping I'll be around when they have kids, too.

More kids to love are good; the more kids I love, the more love there is. Terrifying!

previous - next




Diaryland