Mythical Ish
2002-02-25 7:40 p.m.

Okay, Liam, let me tell you about Ish.

Sir Ismael ibn Murad al-ben Muhammad nasl Hakim (Stacy Gettier) was the first Baron of Black Diamond. Yes, he does exist. I have pictures of him. My husband lived with him for a year or so. One of my friends was deflowered by him. I think he's real!

Ish was, when I lived in BD, Older Than Anyone. He was thirty! He was even losing his hair! (Although Mistress Tannis claims to have known him when he had hair.) We thought he was ancient.

Ish was a graduate student in agronomy. (Out Standing in His Field.) He's now a farmer. No wonder we never see him!

Ish was, in those days, a burly fellow with a thick black beard and dark eyes. He can't see without his glasses, at ALL, so he needed his squires to direct him during melees. Once, at Pennsic, he killed his own Crown Prince by accident.

I've also met Murad (Ish's SCA dad, now deceased), and Akbar (Ish's SCA brother).

I miss Ish. I believe Sir Iain knows where he is. Sure would be nice to introduce him to Liam!

Today's Song: Get Down Tonight, KC and the Sunshine Band (Headbone reprogrammed by an ill-advised viewing of the Charlie's Angels film)

Today's book: Lord Foul's Bane, Stephen R. Donaldson--been a long time since I read this!

previous - next




Diaryland