Education-hatin'-Educaitlin
2002-01-25 6:52 p.m.

My career has eaten my life.

I planned to go to Inter-Baronial Twelfth Night (more like Thirtieth Night) this weekend, but I still have papers to grade. By Monday. Baaaad papers. Ones that suck eggs. The terrible ones take longer, because I need time to bang my head on the table and despair of ever teaching these darlings anything at all.

I should have done lots of grading today, but I got nabbed to do other stuff. Many of my colleagues needed help doing grades on the computer, and they know I'll hold their hands while they calculate semester averages. (Never mind that I'm reading to them, directly off the handy instructions that our computer lady gave all of us.They still need a warm body to stand behind them. Sheesh!) I also wasted a lot of time cleaning up our nasssssty bookroom, then paid for it with an asthma attack. Gack.

I got nothing done, so I did what all good teach-ums do, and hauled the whole lot home. There goes my weekend.

No wonder I have NO life!

I'm taking the Monday after University off, so I can enjoy Kiri-dono's visit. I'm also wondering, for the first time in fifteen years, if I need to get out of public education. Maybe drive a semi. Or write smutty romance novels. Or sell lingerie. Any alternative career ideas out there?

Today's song: Who Needs Sleep? by BNL

Today's book: The Earthlets. Toooo cute. Pavla needs this one before #2 arrives.

previous - next




Diaryland