Geek Grrrl
2002-01-24 8:59 p.m.

I have been declared a Geek Extraordinaire by my friend Catherine. She presented me with a pocket protector of my very own on Monday. (This from a woman who pees backwards...more on that some other time.) I've never really thought of myself as a geek, but upon reflection, I think she's right.

After all, I love fantasy/sci-fi/comics, and I tend to get immersed in things, memorize stuff, and quote random fangeek silliness. I'm very happy in the company of other geek types-you know who you are! I tend to get asked out by the guys who work in comic shops. I married a Toy Magnet-we have all the Earthworm Jim toys, many varieties of Batman, talking Darth Vader and Yoda, scary Darth Maul, etc. Frank needs a room just for all of the toys.

But strangely, Catherine thinks I'm a geek because I love Shakespeare, and because my favorite Christmas present was my two-CD audio recording of Seamus Heaney's new "Beowulf." (Note to self-name next dog Grendel. Or Grendel's Momma.)

Just to cement my spot in the Geek Girl Hall of Fame, here's some wisdom from Yoda, our own little Greeny Rubberlips.

"You seek Yoda. Yoda will help.'

So, Yoda, am I a geek?

"Fun this is not!"

What should I do tonight?

"You must unlearn what you have learned."

Um, what should I do about dinner? I can't unlearn on an empty tummy, can I?

"A Jedi's strength flows from the force."

But a Jedi's gotta eat, Yoda!

"A Jedi uses the force for knowledge and defense, never for attack."

I'm not going to attack my food, just eat it! Do Jedi like pizza?

"Train you no more will I. Sleep now I must."

Be that way. Geek!

Today's song: Car Wheels on a Gravel Road, Lucinda Williams-Bonnie Raitt Lite

Book du Jour: The Woodwife, Terri Windling-nice magic-realist novel

previous - next




Diaryland