Gratitude
2001-12-29 12:29 a.m.

I'm trying to recover from Christmas. This time of year is exhausting for me. (Probably for you, too!)

We had a wonderful time with Frank's brother and his family, and Frank's sweet dad. I do love a lap full of niece and nephews! They are so smart and sweet and full of life, and they wear me plumb out. My sister-in-law feeds us sinfully well while we're there, then we waddle home with ten extra pounds and sore backs (from playing horsie and giant robot with the kiddles.)

Today, we hit Best Buy and got ourselves a DVD player. (Thanks for the generous gift card, Mom and Dad!) I hooked it up while Frank was off doing aikido, and spent the next three hours entranced by the Phantom Menace. I could watch Ray Park's pretty footwork all night long. We are not going to get any papers graded for a while, because we want to see all of our favorite movies on DVD now! I will be totally useless when the LOTR DVD finally comes out. Crunchy, toasty brain. I think Frank will now survive without a Gamecube, even.

We won't be going to Twelfth Night, after all.We had planned to go to David's party and TN, but we're now leery of kenneling Junior. He did OK over Christmas, but he's been diagnosed with thyroid cancer, and I'm watching him closely. He seems pretty happy right now, and our vet promises to tell us when it's time to let him go. I guess I think of every day with him as precious, and I don't want to risk having him die alone, away from home, in a kennel.

I know some of you probably think I'm being goofy, since he's just a dog, but to me, he's family. He's been my constant companion and comic relief for fourteen years, and he's protected me from a couple of nasty fellows who would have done me terrible harm if not for thirty pounds of snarling border collie.He's old and tired now, but he still lights up when he sees us. He wants to have his ears scratched, and loves to lick our feet. We'll love him for as long as it takes him to go. Our friends who know him will understand.

Today's book: Zodiac by Neal Stephenson-if they make a movie of this, Jack Black has to play the lead character!

Today's song: Baby Seat by BNL (It's on the Headbone Radio, dude!)

previous - next




Diaryland