Sugar Plum Tree
2001-12-23 2:34 p.m.

Wow! It's been ages since I've written anything. Bad me!

I've been SICK, still, but I've been busy. Saw FOTR on Thursday; I'm still off in Middle Earth somewhere. When I was 11 or so, I wanted to be just like Eowyn when I grew up. I'm already looking forward to "The Two Towers" next Christmas.

I promised to tell a Christmas tradition story. My family has lots of the usual fun stuff-doing the tree, reading the Christmas story, and such. All very, very dear to me, and pretty much normal and average.

The really interesting Christmas tradition was one we shared with our childhood friends down the street. The Wells family had four kids, and the youngest was a girl my age, Donna-Marie. She and her older sisters and brother introduced me to lots of fun stuff, including really cheesy science fiction (like E.E."Doc" Smith's Lensman series.) Every year, Mrs. Wells, a lady of infinite class and grace, would need major help putting up the Christmas tree, so my brother Larry and I would be called upon to help.

This was no ordinary tree. First, a huge behemoth of a fir would be selected. Next, the top half would be sawed off, leaving the fattest part of the tree. It would be heavily flocked, so it looked snow-covered. It went in the Wells family living room, and looked as if it continued on through the ceiling.It would be carefully lit with tiny white and gold lights.

Next, all the couches and chairs would be carefully covered with clean, white sheets, and Mrs. Wells would take out the ornaments. These were glass confections in shades of red, rose, pink, gold, white, and cream, many over a hundred years old. We were all enlisted to hang these delicate wonders on the huge, white fir tree. We were SO careful! The final touch would be strands of gleaming beads, draped around the tree. It looked like fairyland, or a suger-plum fantasy. The neighbors would be invited in to wonder at the lovely thing, and to admire the gorgeous ornaments.

After Epiphany, we'd help take it all down.All tree-related operations were usually accompanied by cookies, punch, and lots of singing.I dearly loved the Wells kids, who treated me like an extra sister. I grieved when they moved away, and was saddened by the death of Admiral Wells, a man I greatly admired. I haven't seen Mrs. Wells for a long time, but I like to think of her every Christmas, creating her magical tree.

I think I'll go fling some more tinsel at my own motley tree. After that, I must produce doll clothes; Felicity needs winter outfits, and Aunt Susie has to make 'em.

May you all have a wonderful Christmas, and a joyous New Year!

previous - next




Diaryland