Harnessed
2006-09-17 4:38 p.m.

I am having great difficulty "getting back into harness" this fall.

It's always hard to switch from having my days entirely under my control to living on school time. Even after twenty years, it chafes. I'm not the sort to laze about during my breaks; I still get up relatively early, and still work hard. It's just that I get to do things of my own choosing, when I choose to do them.

When school starts, it seems that every day is a flat-out race to get deadlines met, necessities gathered, and to hold chaos at bay. I rise at five and finish each day limp and drained. I never, ever get enough sleep, so my "school face" is hollow-eyed and haggard.

Under ordinary circumstances, it takes me a while to adapt. This year, between new stuff being required by our school system and dumb stuff I volunteered to do, I'm finding it a slog.

I like to get stuff done at school, and try mightily not to bring things home, but here I am on a balmy Sunday with a bag full of work.

Tomorrow, I am teaching a class after school, for which I do at least get paid. It's a refresher on how to use our very cool online writing program. I plan to enjoy it.

Unfortunately, I have another worry--Thor has been limping for two days, favoring his right rear leg. I'm hoping mightily for a small vet bill, but it will probably be another big one. Poor huge boy, he gets around well on three legs. I hope his hips are okay.

previous - next




Diaryland