Multiplication
2006-09-20 9:25 p.m.

Troubles come in multiples, yes they do.

Thor needs x-rays; vet thinks he has knee issues. Not sure about possible hip dysplasia. We'll put him on supplements, just in case. He's on antibiotics now for major skin rash/infection all across his back. Poor big puppy.

Casey is having more bad days and fewer good days. He goes to the vet on Saturday for an evaluation. I'm concerned that his quality of life is poor. There's only so much I can do. I keep a soft, clean rug under him, and try to keep him cleaned up, despite his incontinence. I support his hips so he can stand and eat, but he eats less and less. Today I tried hand-feeding him, and he turned away from me. It might be time to let him go. It's going to be hard on us and Thor--the big puppy loves the fossil dog. They've taken to sleeping with their heads together, looking extremely cuddly and cute.

Yesterday, Beth called to tell me she'd had to put Cisco, her elderly shepherd/lab mix, to sleep. He was the Pilot's boy, and he was a wonderful dog. Niece Elbone always referred to him as our "oldest nephew." I hope he's in a happy place with lots of squirrels.

This evening, the Samurai's van died, we fear for good. I hate car shopping almost as much as I hate bad grammar. There goes my weekend.

The cherry on top of this calamitous day was when Cher called, from our school football game, to tell me that one of our favorite students, a football player, had just broken his leg.

previous - next




Diaryland