Spoiled Cooks
2006-01-29 6:02 p.m.

Well, the Spoiled Cook party on Friday seemed to go well. Most of the food was consumed, the wine was popular, and the chocolate stuff was amazing. Kat did a great job of handling tipsy, rowdy teachers--a notoriously difficult audience. I was even pleased with how the house looked. It's finally feeling like our home, rather than our box warehouse. Cher brought her mom, who looks way too young to have a daughter in her thirties, and my former student Kelly came, too, as well as lovely Lara, baby Bob, and sweet Sharon. It was fun!

Yesterday, we went to our pal Kelly's and painted. She's trying to sell the rambling ranch house where she grew up. I can tell it's sad for her, because she started raising her family there, too, before her husband decided to check out of said family. He's insistent about the sale, so she's lovingly preparing the house for someone else's brood. I think we might be back to help her tackle the garage.

Today, I wrestle with a migraine and papers to grade. Why do my headaches like to coincide with end-of-quarter madness? My hubby is, as usual, off doing martial arts stuff. I'm feeling pretty down and neglected. I'll try not to be cranky when he finally gets home.

previous - next




Diaryland