Endangered
2006-01-03 6:14 p.m.

Back to school today. Cher and I were both full of energy, having gone a full week without our captive audience. The monkeys were all exhausted, poor babies. Our principal was sick to death of confiscating Christmas iPods by the end of the day. Several of my darlings confessed that they had been up late playing new video games. Wonder why their parents didn't realize it was a SCHOOL NIGHT and do some PARENTING.

Several of the darling monkeys neglected to turn in poetry projects, which pretty much guarantees a failing grade in two weeks when the semester ends. How they can fail to deliver something to which we devoted five hours of class time and a week's worth of homework assignments baffles me. The entire thing was done in class. One need only print it out. Somehow, though, several of my kids managed to make their files disappear, or spend five hours *pretending* to work. A few tried sending each other notes via temp files on the network, but we caught them. I notified parents, gave them classwork grades of zero, and waited for the projects, which all of the parents involved assured me "had already been completed at home." Sure enough, none of the projects are finished, or done according to directions. (Anyone wanna see a ten line haiku? Or a three line "sonnet"? Me either!) The truly frustrating part of this is that I'll get called all kinds of nasty things when I give the note-passers the grades they deserve. This is why I use a rubric (to show exactly where the missing points went) and an assignment sheet (to prove that, yes, I really did let them know how it was supposed to look.) I just get so tired of seeing really excellent kids get by with turning in sub-par work because their parents want to indulge them. I love them too much to let them think that the world will cut them slack. I remind them constantly, when they say, "But my mom lets me do XYZ!" that I'm NOT anyone's momma!

Sorry. Rant over. I'm just tired and frustrated. My Protestant work ethic seems to be an endangered species.

Wanna know what tired, annoyed EduCaits do at the end of the school day? They go to Homey's and buy finishing touches for their hooses. I got the toilet paper holder up (set screws are good--no set screw, and holder is no working so goodish), changed our filters, and have designs on improving the shower rod situation. (Corby could peek over the top of the current one.) Maybe I'll get to it tomorrow night. Tonight, hubby and I go eat pizza and watch the big monkey kidnap a teeny screamy lady.

previous - next




Diaryland