Ice Water
2006-01-04 6:59 p.m.

Israel's Prime Minister, Ariel Sharon, has suffered a massive stroke--the bleeding kind. He was scheduled for a "routine procedure" tomorrow, involving cardiac catheterization to repair a small hole in his heart, which caused a previous, smaller stroke. Since the first stroke, he's been on blood thinners, which may have contributed to his current condition.

I heard this on the news as I was making a cherry pie tonight, and ice water ran through my veins.

Two years ago, that was me, with a big difference--I had my heart repaired before anything terrible happened, although my "routine procedure" took four years to be approved by my HMO.

There but for the grace of God go I. Now, you might think I'm silly, but I am absolutely certain that I'm here for a reason. Not sure I know what it is, exactly, but I think it involves my monkey students.

Or maybe God knows Casey needs a Pet Woman.

previous - next




Diaryland