A Sack of Door Knobs
2005-09-14 11:56 p.m.

Here comes Hurricane Ophelia, chugging along the Outer Banks. We're supposed to get rain and wind. Should be no big deal.

So, I go to the store just to stock up, y'know, in case stuff changes and Ophelia goes all Katrina on me. What do I buy in that bullseye store?

A bag of door knobs. Yes, I said door knobs.

See, our house came with mismatched, crappy door knobs. Most of them are so poorly installed that doors won't latch, meaning that houseguests and other folks desiring privacy are often treated to a Wonder Borkita growfing in their faces when they least expect it. I've been buying new knobs whenever I find them, trying to amass the necessary number of matching ones. Today, they had lots, so I bought them. If I'm trapped in the house by torrential rains, I can replace door knobs by candlelight.

Ophelia's pressure differential also means a migraine, so I'm gonna take my meds and go beddy-bye.

previous - next




Diaryland