Katrina
2005-08-31 10:44 p.m.

This week, we're both back to work. Prepping rooms and sitting through meetings is just the pre-game show. Next week, we get students!

As I'm putting up posters in my nice, clean classrooms, I think about the Samurai's cousin, Amy, and her hubby. They're teachers. They have kids. They started back to school in mid-August. They live in Gulfport, Mississippi.

Their schools are probably demolished now. Their house is most likely gone, too. They are safe in Alabama.

I think about all those kids in Gulfport, Biloxi, Bay St. Louis, Pass Christian, and New Orleans. How many *entire* schools systems were wiped out by Katrina? How long will it be before those thousands of kids can go back to school? Where will they be?

Some big-hearted teachers in Texas, Alabama, and northern MS are going to have an influx of traumatized kids to deal with. School will be important to them, because it represents normalcy. I hope there are places for those students to start healing while the Gulf Coast recovers.

I am grateful that I don't have to see the ruins of my school. I love the institution at which I labor daily. It would break my heart to see it leveled. I know it's just a building, but I've devoted eighteen years to it. It's a home, too.

previous - next




Diaryland